The Belper Ladies Hockey Club Woman Award was renamed The Irene Bestwick Trophy after she passed away earlier this year. The first recipient was awarded to Will Howarth.

Here is the response from her daughter, Ruth.

‘I am delighted that Belper Ladies Hockey Club has decided to rename the Clubperson of the Year award to the Irene Bestwick trophy.

Mrs B. as she was known to many, was involved with the hockey club for approx. 75 years. She left school at 15 and was a member of the club until she passed away aged 90 last year. During that time she gained so much pleasure from playing, umpiring, organising and watching at Belper Meadows and continued to attend on a regular basis right until she became housebound and unable to leave her residential home in Coxbench.

Mum made so many friends and took great enjoyment through her association with Belper. Sport was her passion, especially hockey.

Hockey is such a great sport that allows mixed ages, abilities, and gender to enjoy a sporting activity together and make friendships and links that will serve them well throughout their lives, and Belper is such a great club. I was particularly pleased that the first award was presented to Will Howarth, who may not have been connected to Belper Hockey Club for numerous years, but whom I regard as a real ‘hockey’ man and has worked so hard to enable others to enjoy the sport. A worthy winner.

Ruth Lane

Mrs B Trophy


Categories: Uncategorized